Habits

“Habits are the invisible architecture of daily life. We repeat about 40% of our behavior almost daily, so our habits shape our existence, and our future. If we change our habits, we change our lives.”

My habits. I’ve allowed them to dictate my life. It’s funny because it’s all up to me. I’m the one responsible for my own misery.

I’m stressed out about school:  I can sit down and study

I’m unhappy with my body: I can run in the mornings and never miss a sunrise

I’m always tired: I can go to sleep so that I can wake up well rested and refreshed

I have no respect for myself: I can surround myself with people that see my worth

My brain chemicals are fucked up: I can take my medicine every day to maintain some kind of stability

I don’t feel like I’m intelligent: I can be attentive in class and allow myself to absorb information. I can read in my free time to expand my mental horizons.

I want to be like everyone else: I can complete my goals–change my routines so I don’t feel like I have to accept my own discontent with myself.

Why does it sound so easy?

Leave a Reply

