Coffee for two…or four

Hear me out:

People are art, are they not? In my opinion, people are the most complex form of art, influenced by their chemical composition, their childhood, their emotions, even the moment that happened .00986 seconds ago.

I consider myself an artist. Not because I fit the strictly standardized and oppressive definition of “an artist”, but because with out art my life would be with out purpose.

So if people are art and I’m an “art enthusiast”, can I really be blamed for simultaneously falling for four different people? Like paintings, they’re all different and beautiful to me. They have unique color schemes and brush strokes.  Each person challenges a different part of my brain, emphasizing different aspects of my own personality. Call me greedy, but I don’t want to let them go. And I don’t want to share.

This is why I had to give up dating for Lent. I’m a hopeless romantic, but not a traditional one. I have the potential to become infatuated with anyone whom I have chemistry with, even if it’s multiple people at the same time. Imagine if you had to pick one book to read for the rest of your life. Even if the book is amazing, you’re still closing off your mind to hundreds of perspective-altering stories that have the potential to evoke emotions that you weren’t even aware you had. I can’t just have one book. My mind is starving for knowledge, for different perspectives. For art.

I can’t just have one book.

 

 

Leave a Reply

